block_info: cstarchello_detailpages, Breadcrumbs block
block_info: cstarchello_detailpages, Detail title


block_info: cstarchello_detailpages, Stories Main
OMA is a leading international partnership practicing architecture, urbanism, and cultural analysis. Our buildings and masterplans around the world insist on intelligent forms while inventing new possibilities for content and everyday use. OMA is led by seven partners – Rem Koolhaas, Ellen van Loon, Reinier de Graaf, Shohei Shigematsu, Iyad Alsaka, David Gianotten and Managing Partner, Victor van der Chijs – and sustains an international practice with offices in Rotterdam, New York, Beijing, and Hong Kong.

OMA-designed buildings currently under construction include the new headquarters for China Central Television – a tower reinvented as a loop – in Beijing; the adjacent Television Cultural Centre; Shenzhen Stock Exchange – China’s equivalent of the NASDAQ exchange for hi-tech industries; Milstein Hall – an extension of the College of Architecture, Art and Planning at Cornell University; a new headquarters for Rothschild Bank in London; and De Rotterdam, the largest building in the Netherlands.

OMA's recently completed projects include the Wyly Theatre in Dallas (with REX, 2010), Prada Transformer, a rotating multi-use pavilion in Seoul (2009), the Serpentine Gallery pavilion in London
and the Zeche Zollverein Historical Museum and masterplan in Essen (2006), the Seoul National University Museum of Art (2005), the much acclaimed Casa da Música in Porto (2005), the Prada Epicenter in Los Angeles (2004), the Seattle Central Library (2004), the Leeum Samsung Museum of Art in Seoul (2004), the Netherlands Embassy in Berlin (2003), the IIT Campus Center in Chicago (2003), and the Prada Epicenter in New York (2001).

The work of Rem Koolhaas and OMA has won several international awards including the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2000, the Praemium Imperiale (Japan) in 2003, the RIBA Gold Medal (UK) in 2004, the Mies van der Rohe – European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture (2005) and the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the 2010 Venice Biennale.

For all the latest news direct from OMA HQ, please like our facebook page at (updated daily)
block_info: cstarchello_detailpages, Details page socials
block_info: cstarchello_detailpages, Community Detail

Recent activity

View all activities